Sun. Mar 26th, 2023


India has a long and complex political history, dating back to ancient civilizations. In the modern era, India gained independence from British colonial rule in 1947, and established a democratic government based on a federal structure. The country has had a multi-party system, with the Indian National Congress being the dominant political party during the early years of independence.

In the late 1970s, a new political force emerged in the form of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which espoused Hindu nationalist ideologies. The BJP rose to power in the 1990s and has since been one of the major political parties in India, along with the Indian National Congress.

India has also seen the rise of regional parties, which have gained significant political power in various states. The country has also seen a growing polarization between secular and religious groups, with communal tensions and violence arising from time to time.

India has had a number of prime ministers, including Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, P.V. Narasimha Rao, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Manmohan Singh, Narendra Modi and most recently, Narendra Modi.

Official Name
Republic of India

Local Name

New Delhi

Form: Parliamentary
Head of Government: Prime Minister
Head of State: President

Independence Day
15th August 1947

Voting Age

Legal System
Common law system based on English model
Separate personal law codes apply to Hindus, Muslims, Christians
Judicial review of legislative acts

Highest Court
Supreme Court

National Emblem
Lion Capital of Asoka at Sarnath

National Anthem
Jana Gana Mana (Thou Art the Ruler of the Minds of All People)

National Song
Vande Mataram (I bow to thee, O Mother!)

National Motto
Satyameva Jayate (Truth Alone Triumphs)

National Animal
Heritage Animal: Indian Elephant
Aquatic Animal: Ganges River Dolphin
Reptile: King Cobra
Bird: Indian Peacock

National Flower

National Tree
Indian Banyan

National Fruit

National River

All you need to know about Lok Adalat

The History and Future of the Khalistan Movement